krottopia.blogg.se

Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3
Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3











wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3
  1. #Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 movie
  2. #Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 install
  3. #Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 windows

I've put the drive back in the enclosure, and I'm trying to recover the files again. Turns out that the enclosure uses hardware encryption, rendering most file recovery utilities useless. I've had this happen before, so I removed the drive and went after my files using a direct sata connection and testdisk (file/partition recovery tool). Pros: It was free, but I suppose you get what you pay for.Ĭons: Drive died after about 6 months, taking several thousand family photos with it (vacations, my wedding, etc.). This is normal, but my goodness, they should have listed it as a 940GB drive rather than a TB. Only 930GB usable / 1TB = 1024gb, thats 94GB missing. I usually only access stuff on a drive 1-2 times in a month, so I just unplug the usb cable from the computer, it stays off until I need it, no unnecessary wear.

#Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 windows

Overall Review: -The drive seems to endure unnecessary wear & tear, turn your computer on, it powers on, about 30mins later it turns itself off, go to turn your computer off or it goes to sleep, the drive powers on, stalls windows while it cycles, then powers back off with the machine. Though it looks cool from the top, the whole inside is lit up :P The indicator lights on the front are an eye sore, they bleed into each other. Power button on the back takes so much force to push, its far easier and safer just to unplug the usb cable.

#Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 install

(you can just disable it with the software once you install it if you want to use it later) Luckily you can just delete that hidden 1GB partition in manage disks and voila no more annoyance. I installed it to check it out, it added FOUR processes in taskmanager. The software will bug constantly to install everytime you restart your machine.

wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3

I only bought them because I needed something external to backup to.Pros: -Fast for external, moved about 250GB in about 1 1/2 hoursĬons: -Like with 95% of external drives, software, software, software.

wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3

But these days, you just can't run from one manufacturer to another, there's always something you will not like. Last but not least, I will never again buy from WD or any other manufacturer if they don't include the option to remove their bloatware. Even at 4500rpm, they are still pretty fast if you don't mind USB 2.0. I highly recommend Passport Elite drives as the warranty is longer, if you are going to be transporting large amounts of data. However USB does use CPU power and that's one of the main reason I try to avoid USB products as much as I can.

#Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3 movie

I may occasionally use one of the drives to watch a movie from or access files on applications just to see if the transfer was done properly and they seem to work at a decent speed. I back up whatever I want to them and then disconnect. Hence bloatware.īear in mind that these drives are not intended to always be on and constantly reading/writing. However its huge size is completely unnecessary. That said, the WD Smartware can be useful for drive readings like temperature, space, etc. 700mb can mean lots of documents and spreadsheets. I did not bother to try but that is a huge rip off to me. You can choose to hide it, but you can't get rid of it no matter what you do. The software that comes with the drive also automatically eats up around 700mb of drive space which is a real waste. They come with a passport dock which I abhor due to its design as it can easily scratch the usb port on the drive, and the extra cable incase you don't use the dock is only 18 inches long. I own 2 500GB Passport Elite drives (6 months) and no problems yet.













Wd my book essential 1tb reads as 3